The Governor’s Office of Community Service (ServeMontana), Reach Higher Montana, and Montana Campus Compact (MTCC) are pleased announce 98 Montana high school seniors have been awarded $1,000 Youth Serve Montana Scholarships.

The Youth Serve Montana Scholarship was created to promote volunteerism among high school students. Funds are available through support from Montana Campus Compact, a network of Montana campuses committed to community service; Reach Higher Montana, a nonprofit dedicated to helping students pursue and fund post-secondary education; and the Governor’s Office of Community Service, a state agency tasked with expanding and promoting community service in Montana. The Governor’s Office of Community Service administers the scholarship funds.

We are so excited to see another class of freshmen coming into Montana’s colleges and universities equipped with the passion and skills for community engagement,” said Andrea Vernon, Executive Director of MTCC. “Our communities begin to rebuild from the COVID-19 crisis, it will be more important than ever to activate opportunities and engage students in relief efforts.”

Scholarship recipients completed at least 100 hours of volunteer service during the past year. Many awardees exceeded 100 hours; 2020 recipients contributed nearly 15,000 combined volunteer hours to Montana communities.

“We congratulate these outstanding students on their scholarship awards, and offer our deepest gratitude for their service,” said Kelly Cresswell, Executive Director of Reach Higher MT. “We look forward to the future achievements of these Montana students as they continue their educational pursuits.”

Among those recognized were Reegan Carper of Fairfield who has selected Gallatin College MSU; Nicole Krone of Choteau, who has selected Montana State University Bozeman and Draylen Sawyer of Simms who has chosen University of Montana Western